Monday, June 7, 2010

8/30/90

0920 hrs. Four weeks today. Javier Perez de Queyar (sp?) meets with Iraq's ambassador today. The VOA news reported that Hussein was on CBS news last night, and denied rumors of secret peace negotiations with Washington. They also proclaimed that an American newspaper reported that Iraq would leave Kuwait if they had guaranteed access to the gulf, and control over an oil field that originates in Iraq. The Iraq ambassador to the US said males could leave too, if the US would promise that they would not attack Iraq. Hussein said on CBS, that the US would lose the war. God is on Iraq's side and Satan is on the side of the US. I almost could accept that based on the decline of morals in America. I think ‘real’ Christians are probably a minority in the US, but would God really back an oppressor? I think the Bible indicates maybe that is possible. It also says that His ways are not our ways. Are we being punished? Am I? What do I know? The VOA just had a note about journalist, Carol Murphy, who made it to Saudi yesterday. There must still be a path through the desert. Less than 200 miles to freedom I think. What will the day bring? Peace? Withdrawal? For me, probably just more boredom.

1250 hrs. I was up on the roof again, earlier. I finally finished that book, Voice of the Planet. Quite interesting. Just took a shower...and I shaved! I decided that the reason I was not shaving, was depressing, and I didn't want to feel that way. I also figured, if I was getting some sun, I would want my chin tanned as well, and also because I would shave it off for you when I got home anyway. So now I have to shave every day again. Nothing better to do here anyway. If you were here, I would.... Change subject. I really enjoy the peace up on the roof. I actually took off my pants for a few minutes up there. The air felt good. A darker body would be more convincing as a Spanish national. Before I shaved, my chin actually had quite a few gray hairs in it. Getting to be an old fart. See you soon, God willing.

1925 hrs. Remind me, never to watch Dan Rather. His interview with Hussein is on TV right now. He asked some stupid flippin’ questions. "Who is Saddam Hussein?" How f@#%ing stupid? Hussein won this interview. It's still on. He can really talk around a question, without giving a straight answer. Hey, tell Jesse I had cheese and jam on pita for supper. It wasn't half bad. Made me think of her. Makes me sad. I miss you all so much. Great way to spend a vacation. Dan Rather just told Hussein that Americans don't understand why he keeps hostages. Hussein won't concede that we're hostages. He says he has not asked for anything in exchange for their release. Let us go then! Now he's bringing up the Japanese detention camps again. America screwed up, so what? It was done out of ignorance, therefore, Iraq is ignorant. Hussein can really screw up the logic of an argument.

No comments:

Post a Comment